Pi Day Podcast and Meeting the Mayor

First things first, IT IS PI DAY!!!! That means another podcast released as close to Pi time as I could in my time zone. In this episode, I interview Dr. Amber Smith, a faculty member microphone-21at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. In the theme of Pi day, Dr. Smith is a BioMathematician. The title of the episode is “Knocking Infections Off the Catwalk with Models.” Dr. Smith provided some GREAT slides to go along with the interview so I think you will really learn a lot. Here is a sample of the episode. For the whole episode, click here or follow the link at the top of the page to sign up. And if you are on twitter, be sure to use #SSBPodcast to talk about the Science Sound Bites Podcast.

Next, I did a STEM expo at Whitehaven Elementary School on Thursday. It was a lot of fun as I was an honored guest along with a member of the FAA and the MAYOR! Along with have a St. Jude room to talk about our research and about what St. Jude does to help people, I got to give a talk to the school STEM students. I thought it would be best to talk about music and baseball, because, why not?? I’ll link the talk once I have it and some of the pictures. The kids were great, very engaging and most had done a science fair project. The principal of 4 years has done some wonderful things that that inner city public school, from failing to exceeding. Kudos to him!! I’ll talk about that in my next blog post. I also did a guest piece in the St. Jude insider. I’ll post that one later too.

Cheers and go get some Pi…I mean pie,

MDLJ

 

Leave a Reply

